Saturday, 27 February 2016

call for Indigenous artists: REVEAL Indigenous Art Awards

The Foundation will begin accepting applications starting March 1st, 2016.
The deadline for submissions is June 1st.
The Awards are intended to recognize emerging and established Indigenous artists working in traditional or contemporary practices. The awards will be given in six artistic categories including dance, music, theatre, literature, film/video (media arts), and visual arts/fine craft.
Applications from artists working in multiple art forms will also be accepted, however, applicants should choose one of the artistic categories listed above in which to apply.
Artists selected to receive an award may use the proceeds of the award at their own discretion.
Award recipients will be selected by a jury of peers. Awards will be given at the sole discretion of The Hnatyshyn Foundation. All decisions are final.

How to Apply

Candidates must submit a complete application online, or in hard copy via Canada Post or courier service, no later than the deadline. If sent by post or courier, submissions must be postmarked or time stamped no later than this date. There are no exceptions. We encourage all candidates to submit their applications well in advance to avoid any chance of missing the deadline.


To be eligible to apply, you must
  • Be of Indigenous descent.
    For the purposes of these awards, Indigenous people include First Nations, Inuit and M├ętis people of Canada.
  • Be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada.
  • Be at least 18 years of age at the time of application.
  • Define and describe yourself as a practising artist.

Other Requirements

The awards are intended for practising artists as performers and creators. Contemporary and traditional practices are eligible.
Artistic Disciplines
Dance, Music, Theatre
For applicants in dance, music and theatre, the awards are intended for performance. Oral traditions, storytelling, spoken word, pow wow and hip hop are included in these categories. Choreographers, arrangers, composers and directors are not eligible.
The awards in literature are intended for writers in fiction, non-fiction and poetry, as well as playwrights.

Film/Video (Media Arts)
The awards in film and video are intended for creators working in film and video (analog or digital), including animation, who retain creative control of their work. Producers and screenwriters are not eligible.
Visual Art & Fine Craft
The awards in visual art and fine craft include conventional visual art practices (painting, drawing, sculpture, photography, printmaking, mixed media). Installation, performance art and conceptual art are also eligible.
In fine craft, contemporary and traditional practices are eligible, including, carving, jewellery making, ceramics, glass work, bead work, fiber, textile and fashion, and include other traditional/culture-based materials such as fish scale, caribou hair tufting, and quillwork.

Submitting Your Application

You can complete and submit your application online starting March 1st. If you are submitting your application in hard copy by Canada Post or courier service, please send all materials in a single package. Do not send originals. Due to the high volume of requests, application support materials cannot be returned. Make sure to retain a copy of any materials you send. Late or incomplete applications and any supplementary materials arriving after the deadline date will not be reviewed.
For more details, please consult our frequently asked questions.
You can download a copy of the application form here for reference purposes.
You can apply online starting March 1st.
Results will be communicated in January of 2017.

No comments: